Uncategorized

Breeding season starts in earnest…

Good morning feathered fanatics. It is a beautiful sunny day today and the weather is a little warmer. My birds are on 14.5 hours light now as I have artificial lighting. My mosaics are nesting well and all three pairs have nests built with two of them now on a full nest of eggs so the countdown is on. My Yorkshire canaries have only recently been acquired so I am conditioning them now an hopefully within a couple of weeks we will have some nests. I have three pairs of these for breeding this year as I am fairly new to it. One of my hens has a splayed leg so needs a nest on low level and another one is very buff so will put her to my one yellow cock in the hope that it will reduce the chance of feather lumps. I add egg food daily now which is generally some garden peas, dried egg food and rusk but sometimes add oats, Niger, carrot, sweet corn or cous cous. It is good to give them some variation. Over and out!

Leave a Reply

